If the number of users in your "Friends" section doesn't correspond to the actual number, one of your friends' profiles was deleted or blocked. It takes the counter a short time to reset and display the correct number after a user's profile is deleted. If one of your friends' profiles was blocked, the counter will still count this profile, as he/she still exists on the site.
Was this answer helpful?